Cookies on the Gambling Commission website

The Gambling Commission website uses cookies to make the site work better for you. Some of these cookies are essential to how the site functions and others are optional. Optional cookies help us remember your settings, measure your use of the site and personalise how we communicate with you. Any data collected is anonymised and we do not set optional cookies unless you consent.

Set cookie preferences

You've accepted all cookies. You can change your cookie settings at any time.

Skip to main content


Guidance to licensing authorities

The Gambling Commission's guidance for licensing authorities.


2 - Categories of gaming machine

16.10. Regulations define four categories of gaming machine (as per s.236 of the Act): categories A, B, C and D, with category B divided into a further five sub-categories. The categories and sub-categories have been defined according to the maximum amount that can be paid for playing the machine and the maximum prize it can deliver. Gaming machines which are capable of being used as a gaming machine, whether or not they are currently operating as a gaming machine, are classified as a gaming machine. For example, a machine fitted with a compensator, which allows it to be converted from a skill machine is classified under s.235 of the Act as a gaming machine. Appendix B provides a breakdown of machine categories and entitlements, and Part 22 of this guidance and Part 24 of this guidance of this guidance provide further details around machines in licensed and unlicensed family entertainment centres (FECs).

Previous section
Next section
Age restrictions
Is this page useful?
Back to top