Cookies on the Gambling Commission website

The Gambling Commission website uses cookies to make the site work better for you. Some of these cookies are essential to how the site functions and others are optional. Optional cookies help us remember your settings, measure your use of the site and personalise how we communicate with you. Any data collected is anonymised and we do not set optional cookies unless you consent.

Set cookie preferences

You've accepted all cookies. You can change your cookie settings at any time.

Skip to main content

Types of amusement arcade

There are three types of amusement arcade.

These are:

Unlicensed FECs are able to offer category D machines if they obtain a gaming machine permit from their local licensing authority. Any number of category D machines can be made available with such a permit (subject to non-gambling considerations, such as fire regulations and health and safety).

Warning No one under the age of 18 years is allowed to enter an AGC or the adults only area of a licensed FEC. There are no age restrictions in unlicensed FECs.

Gaming machines (fruit machines, slot machines) in arcade premises

The three different types of amusement arcade can offer specific categories of gaming machine.

Type of arcade Categories of machines permitted
AGC B3, B4, C and D
FEC C and D
Is this page useful?
Back to top