Cookies on the Gambling Commission website

The Gambling Commission website uses cookies to make the site work better for you. Some of these cookies are essential to how the site functions and others are optional. Optional cookies help us remember your settings, measure your use of the site and personalise how we communicate with you. Any data collected is anonymised and we do not set optional cookies unless you consent.

Set cookie preferences

You've accepted all cookies. You can change your cookie settings at any time.

Skip to main content

Types of lotteries and their regulations

Lotteries are a form of gambling. Raffles, tombolas and sweepstakes are all classed as lotteries.

Lotteries can only be run either to raise money for good causes or for fun. They cannot be run for private or commercial gain. 

Simple and complex lotteries

There are simple lotteries and complex lotteries, and both of these have different rules around how they are ran.

There are three factors in a simple lottery: 

  • you have to pay to enter  
  • there is at least one prize
  • prizes are awarded solely on chance. 

There are four factors in a complex lottery: 

  • you have to pay to enter 
  • there is at least one prize 
  • prizes are awarded by a series of processes, and the first process is based solely on chance. 

Who can take part?

The age limit for The National Lottery has recently been changed to 18 following a consultation. This includes all National Lottery games and products. You can read the consultation response on GOV.UK (opens in a new tab).

Next page
Permitted lotteries
Is this page useful?
Back to top