If in doubt, block
You can block any account instantly. This will prevent specific accounts from viewing your profile, and you will no longer be able to see theirs.
So if there’s an account you follow or an ad you see which continually shares gambling related content - or if an account has a tendency to tag you - blocking these accounts and ads will ensure you don’t see their posts, and they can’t contact you.
How do you block an account?
There are two ways in which you can block an account.
- from your timeline - when you see the account appear in your timeline, simply hit the down arrow icon and select ‘block account’
- from the account profile itself - hit the three dots icon on the account profile and select ‘block account’.
You may want to consider blocking accounts if you're still seeing gambling related content from them on your timeline, despite putting in the measures above.
To find out more about keeping yourself safe on Twitter, you can visit the Twitter help centre (opens in new tab).Previous page
Use the mute feature
Last updated: 17 September 2020
Show updates to this content
No changes to show.