Cookies on the Gambling Commission website

The Gambling Commission website uses cookies to make the site work better for you. Some of these cookies are essential to how the site functions and others are optional. Optional cookies help us remember your settings, measure your use of the site and personalise how we communicate with you. Any data collected is anonymised and we do not set optional cookies unless you consent.

Set cookie preferences

You've accepted all cookies. You can change your cookie settings at any time.

Skip to main content


Annual Report and Accounts 2021 to 2022

The Gambling Commission's 2021 to 2022 Annual Report and Accounts.

  1. Contents
  2. Remuneration report - Introduction

Remuneration report - Introduction

This report covers the 12 months ending 31 March 2022 and sets out the policy and disclosures in relation to the remuneration of the Commissioners and senior managers of the Gambling Commission.


The Chair and Commissioners are appointed by the Secretary of State on terms set on the basis of advice from the Civil Service Senior Salaries Review Body.

Appointments are for a period of between three and five years and may be renewed for a further term. Appointments may be terminated at any time by either party giving written notice. Bill Moyes’ term as Chair ended on 6 September 2021. Marcus Boyle was appointed as Chair for a five-year term commencing 6 September 2021. Marcus' contract provides for the Chair to work two days per week on average.

Commissioners work on average one day per week. Commissioners’ contracts may be terminated by written notice where the Secretary of State has reason to believe that the Commissioner has been absent from Commission meetings, without explanation, for a period of longer than three months; has become bankrupt or made an arrangement with a creditor; has been convicted of a criminal offence; has breached the Code of Conduct for Board members; or has become incapacitated by physical or mental illness.

The Commissioners’ appointments are not pensionable under the Civil Service pension scheme and no contributions have been paid by the Commission to any other scheme.

Diversity breakdown for the Board of Commissioners:

  • male Board members 73 percent
  • female Board members 27 percent.

Independent member of Audit and Risk Committee

The Commission reappointed Chris Andrew for a second three-year term as the independent member of Audit and Risk Committee with effect from 1 January 2022. Payment is made for this role.

Senior managers

Senior managers are normally employed directly by the Commission.

Increases in pay are performance based and are broadly in line with senior Civil Service pay bands. Performance targets are set and measured in accordance with the Commission’s policy on pay and reward. The process for the agreement of the executive teams’ performance targets, achievements against targets, and recommendations on changes in remuneration, is reviewed by the Remuneration and Nomination Committee. Except during probation or where guilty of gross misconduct, senior managers’ contracts may be terminated by either party giving 12 weeks written notice. Details of all executive directors serving during the year are provided at Appendix 1, including the duration of their service.

Is this page useful?
Back to top