If you have a question about your gambling, or the gambling of someone close to you, our FAQs from gambling consumers during lockdown may provide valuable information.
Try the new Gambling Commission website we're working on, and give us feedback.
Skip to main content

Types of amusement arcade

There are three types of amusement arcade:

Unlicensed FECs are able to offer category D machines if they obtain a gaming machine permit from their local licensing authority. Any number of category D machines can be made available with such a permit (subject to non-gambling considerations, such as fire regulations and health and safety).

Under 18s

No one under the age of 18 years is allowed to enter an AGC or the adults only area of a licensed FEC, there are no age restrictions in unlicensed FECs.

Gaming machines (fruit machines, slot machines) in arcade premises

The three different types of amusement arcade can offer specific categories of gaming machine. 

Type of arcade

Categories of machines permitted


B3, B4, C and D


C and D