Gaming machines technical standards

What are gaming machine technical standards?

The Gaming Machine Technical Standards consolidated versions - June 2012 incorporate all the revisions made to gaming machine technical standards from September 2007.

These standards are the Gambling Commission’s up to date requirements with respect to game features, display notices and general machine operation, including metering.

Gaming machine technical standards can be downloaded for each category of machine:

Operators or end users should not rely upon these standards as a measure of reliability, quality or minimal security standards.

These standards permit equivalence between different types of technology and do not specify proprietary products or technologies.  Testing regimes for these standards will permit equivalent international standards (ISO).

The technical standards are not intended to limit game content or the use of new technological development provided that the objectives of the standards are met.

Further details of the changes made to the standards from September 2007 to date can be found at the links below (however as of June 2012 all amendments below have been incorporated into the Standards at the links above):

Category C and complex D technical standards - responses - November 2011 sets out changes to elements of the category C technical standards (which, where relevant, supersede those in supplement 2). This has not been published as a supplement, as a consolidated set of technical standards, incorporating this change and earlier supplements, is currently being produced.

The Gaming machines technical standards supplement 2 - June 2009 covers revisions to the speed of play and games links sections of the Machine Standards Category C and Complex Category D.

The Gaming machine standards supplement 1 - July 2008 makes several, largely minor, amendments to the gaming machine standards published in June 2007.

Gaming machine testing strategy


How do you rate this page?


Page last reviewed: April 2014